Mr. J. D. Rivers, the popular proprietor of the Carlton Club Hotel, was born in Wellington on the 5th of June, 1864. He was educated at the Thorndon public school, under Mr. Mowhray, and was afterwards employed for about five years by Mr. McKenzie, as a drover in the Manawatu district. Mr. Rivers subsequently gained considerable experience in the fellmongery trade in Wellington, Hawke's Bay, and Gisborne, and was then employed as barman by Mr. Jull, at Hastings. Five years later he took up a similar position in the Albert Hotel, Hastings, which hotel he afterwards acquired, and conducted on his own account. He then disposed of this house, and took over the Carlton Club Hotel, which he has since successfully conducted. Mr. Rivers is married and has one son and two daughters. He is further referred to as Quarter-master Sergeant of the Hawke's Bay Mounted Rifles.Rohan Luttrell is the first speaker for the Landmarks History Group for 2010, and he will give a history of the Carlton Club Hotel (now the site of Breakers on the corner of Karamu and Heretaunga Streets).
The Carlton Club Hotel was built in 1882, and survived the 1931 earthquake because of its wooden construction. The Luttrell family took ownership in 1933 and the hotel was kept in the family until the building was demolished circa 1970 to make way for the present building, now occupied by Breakers.
Rohan Luttrell lived in the Carlton Hotel as a child and witnessed some of the unusual goings on that occurred. These include the antics of a touring French Rugby team staying at the hotel and the 1950s Blossom Festival riot in Hastings, which started in the Albert Hotel across the road.
The talk promises to be entertaining and informative, with Rohan recalling his memories of growing up in the hotel in Hastings.